A university’s faculty represents one of its most precious assets. UIS faculty are nominated by their colleagues for five prestigious faculty awards each year: four University awards, and the University of Illinois University Scholars Award.

Recipients of four of the prestigious faculty awards, as well as seven new awards added this year, are recognized at the annual spring Faculty Honors Reception.

Faculty Award Recipients 2022

Faculty Excellence Award - Lynn Fisher

Burks Oakley II Distinguished Online Teaching Award - Youngjin Kang

Pearson Faculty Award - Kristi Barnwell

Spencer Faculty Service Award - Deborah Anthony

Adjunct Faculty of the Year - Jodi Hallsten Lyczak

Faculty Engagement Award - Sahar Farshadkhah

Faculty Award for Diversity & Inclusion - Hinda Seif

Early Career Scholarship Award - Meghan Kessler

Scholarly Impact award - Meg Cass

Apr 04, 2022
About Faculty Awards 2021 We recognize the recipients of four of our prestigious faculty awards each spring: the Burks Oakley II Distinguished Online…
Apr 04, 2022
About Promotion to Full Professor All faculty who achieve tenure and the rank of associate professor have demonstrated and documented a clear record of…
Apr 04, 2022
About Tenure Academic tenure is a very rare gift of freedoms and responsibilities entrusted to those who have demonstrated sustained academic and…
Apr 04, 2022
About Sabbatical Leave Academic sabbaticals represent a period of leave granted by the University of Illinois for the purpose of study, research, or other…
Apr 04, 2022
About Emeritus/Emerita Status The awarding of emerita/emeritus status is a significant honor, typically given at the end of one’s formal institutional…