Research safety is of priority at the University of Illinois Springfield. Safety is the responsibility of everyone on campus: faculty, staff, and students.  The safety roles for each member of the institution are described in the policies and procedures of the Research Safety program.

Instructional and Research Safety Board

The Instructional and Research Safety Board is responsible for oversight of the campus research safety program.

IRSB Members

Lucía Vazquez
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation, ex officio

Ravneet Chhokar
Environmental Health and Safety Officer

John Barker
Chair, ICCUA

Chuck Coderko
Associate Vice Chancellor of Administrative Affairs, Facilities and Services, ex officio

Rick Stokes
Biosafety Officer

Katherine Davison
Director, Innovate Springfield

Marc Klingshirn
Chemical Hygiene Officer

Tom Rothfus
Director, Field Stations

John Martin
Director, Barber Observatory

Policies and Procedures

Faculty Staff Manual (pdf)

Laboratory Safety Committee

Laboratory Safety Committee Membership (pdf)
Formerly a committee of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, membership includes a representative for each department that has a laboratory program. Its mission is to assist the campus in compliance with Federal, State, and Local regulations and to promote a safe working environment for students and employees. This Committee provides input for revisions to the UIS Chemical Hygiene Plan and Bloodborne Pathogens Exposure Control Plan.Bloodborne Pathogens Exposure Control Plan (pdf)

Chemical Hygiene Plan (pdf)
Questions about the Chemical Hygiene Plan at UIS should be addressed to the Chemical Hygiene Officer, Marc Klingshirn (

Chemical Waste Disposal Request Form (xls)

Waste Management Overview

Questions or concerns about the Research Safety program at UIS should be addressed to Ravneet Chhokar, the  Environmental Health and Safety Officer.

Call the campus emergency number for immediate response to an emergency situation in the laboratory:
(217) 206-7777