UIS Donor-Funded Institutional Scholarship

Apply by February 15, 2024

The UIS Donor-Funded Institutional Scholarship Application for the 202-25 academic year is live!

UIS awarded over $830,000 in donor scholarships to approximately 300 students in 2023-24!

Apply Now

Undergraduate Scholarships

Below is some brief information about some of the scholarships available at UIS for Teacher Education students.

Complete your FAFSA® and apply using the UIS Institutional Scholarship Application!

Ann Orr Carlson Student Teaching Scholarship

In memory of Ann Orr Carlson, who taught in Springfield public schools for 27 years as a 2nd and 3rd-grade teacher.  A dedicated and caring teacher, Ann served as a supportive mentor to many student teachers over her long and distinguished career.

Eligibility: (1) Be in your student teaching semester, (2) have elementary education as a primary major, secondary major, or pursuing elementary education certification, (3) have academic merit, and (4) plan to pursue an elementary education teaching career.  Preference will be given to students student teaching in Springfield School District #186.

Camerata Scholarship

If you have interest in UIS Music ensemble performance and taking instrumental lessons consider applying for the Camerata Scholarship. All majors are invited to apply.

Cinda Klickna Scholarship

Cinda Klickna taught high school English in Springfield District #186 for over 25 years.  She has served in leadership roles in many community and education organizations and has been a freelance writer for over 30 years.  Cinda’s lifelong passion has been education and helping students learn grammar and writing.

Eligibility: (1) Be pursuing teacher licensure to teach English or Language Arts at middle or secondary levels and (2) have strong English skills which may be demonstrated through the scholarship application narrative or essay.  Merit and financial need shall be considered equally.

Frankenfeld Scholarship

Eligibility:  (1) Be a post-baccalaureate student pursuing Illinois teacher licensure, (2) be non-traditional, and (3) demonstrate financial need and academic merit.  Preference is given to students working full-time and attending classes part-time.

Gordon & Ina Robertson Scholarship

Eligibility: (1) Be an undergraduate student, (2) pursuing a degree in education, and (3) have at least a grade point average of 3.0.

Loken Family Scholarship

Eligibility: (1) Be an undergraduate enrolled in the College of Education & Human Services, (2) must intend to be an educator serving students with special needs, (3) demonstrate financial need, and (4) be enrolled in at least 2 classes each semester.

Minority Teachers of Illinois (MTI) Scholarship Program - ISAC

If you plan to become a preschool, elementary or secondary school teacher and are of African American/Black, Hispanic American, Asian American or Native American origin, you may qualify for up to $5,000 per year as part of the Minority Teachers of Illinois (MTI) Scholarship Program to pay for tuition, fees and room and board, or commuter allowances, if applicable.

Thomas Education Scholarship

Eligibility: Preference given to students who (1) have a grade point average of at least 3.2, (2) is from Illinois, preferably Sangamon County, (3) claim dependents on their FAFSA®, and (4) demonstrated involvement in student activities or community organizations.  Awarded on the basis of academic merit and financial need.

Graduate Scholarships

John E. Erickson Memorial Scholarship

Dr. John E. Erickson was a passionate educator, having taught all levels of the field from elementary grades to university graduates. A firm believer that education was the key to democracy and freedom, Mr. Erickson influenced countless students in the education field. Along with his wife, Delinda A. Chapman, Ed.D., he was very active in the Springfield branch of the American Association of University Women. The John E. Erickson Memorial Scholarship was established by Dr. Chapman in memory of her husband. Applicants must be in good academic standing with demonstrated involvement in service to others. Preference is given to non-traditional female graduate students in Educational Leadership.

Gordon & Ina Robertson Scholarship

Eligibility: (1) Be an undergraduate student, (2) pursuing a degree in education, and (3) have at least a grade point average of 3.0

Prairie Area Teaching Initiative Scholarships

  • Melinda and Alfred LaBarre Scholarship- As a former teacher, principal and Ball Foundation Consultant to the Springfield Ball Charter School, as well as member of Springfield’s Dist. 186 School Board, Melinda LaBarre has invested many years in the educational integrity of Springfield’s students. Melinda and her husband, attorney Alfred “Pete” LaBarre, have established the Melinda A. and Alfred B. LaBarre Scholarship which will honor a qualified high school graduate of Springfield’s public school district with a minimum high school GPA of 3.0 upon graduation.

  • Peggy and Micah Bartlett Scholarship- Micah Bartlett was in the first generation of his family to graduate from college, earning an accounting degree from UIS and then going on to earn an MBA and his CPA license. Today Micah is president and CEO of Town and Country Financial Corporation.  His wife, Peggy Bartlett, has also worked in banking. She now owns Colour Line Hair Studio in Geneva, Illinois.  In 2008, Peggy and Micah visited a class with students in PATI, which helps to prepare students to become teachers. Many of the students are first-generation college students like Micah. The Bartletts were impressed with the students’ commitment and drive, and because they believe so strongly in education, they created a scholarship for students in the program.

  • Betty and Ralph Hurwitz MSS Scholarship- This scholarship is part of a larger gift given by Ralph and Betty Hurwitz, long-time residents of Springfield. They established this larger fund to achieve three things for PATI: provide this current-use scholarship, help to purchase computers and other technology, and meet other needs in the program. Your gifts to this fund will extend the impact of the Hurwitzes’ gift. Of note: Ralph Hurwitz, a realtor and developer in Springfield, was among the Springfield leaders who helped to establish Sangamon State University (which later became the University of Illinois Springfield). This group met every Saturday for a year locating and securing the land for the university.