Harry Berman

He has been active in the Springfield community, having served on the boards of the Community Foundation for the Land of Lincoln and the United Way of Central Illinois. He was the founding chair of the Springfield/Sangamon County Continuum of Learning. He currently serves on the board of Advance Illinois, a statewide education policy and advocacy organization. Retiring with recognition as professor emeritus, he made a lasting contribution to UIS through his efforts to implement the teacher-scholar model, which attracts and retains faculty of excellence throughout the University. His service continues through the Harry and Deborah Berman Faculty Sabbatical Endowment and an endowed UIS scholarship.


Established in 1972, this honor has been bestowed upon alumni, faculty, staff or friends of the University of Illinois by the University of Illinois. The honor is given to those individuals who have consistently demonstrated extraordinary commitment, dedication and service to the advancement of the University of Illinois.


  • Nomination is required. Nominees must be living at the time of their nomination. Nominations will be considered active for three years.
  • Nominee must be an individual or couple who, in deed or action, reflects and recognizes the importance of an education at the University of Illinois; who demonstrates pride in the University of Illinois; and whose extraordinary commitment, dedication and service have significantly advanced the University.
  • Nominee must be an individual or couple in whom alumni, students, faculty and staff of the University of Illinois will take pride and be inspired by this recognition.
  • Previous recipients are not eligible for reconsideration.
  • Current members of the University of Illinois Board of Trustees; the UIAA Board of Directors; the Alumni Association Awards and Recognition Committee; the Campus Alumni Advisory Board; and relatives, employers or employees thereof are not eligible for consideration.
  • Persons currently holding or running for elected state or federal public office in Illinois are not eligible for consideration.
  • The award may not be conferred in absentia; however, it may be granted posthumously.

Nominate Deserving Alumni Today

Recipients must be nominated for the award. Working from these nominations, the Alumni Association Awards and Recognition Committee will select the recipients. The awards will be presented at Commencement or an Alumni Association event. Please complete this online form to submit a nomination.

Please be advised: Should the committee determine the nominee would be more appropriately honored by means of a different award, the committee reserves the right to consider each nominee for other, more suitable recognition. If you have questions, feel free to contact us at advancement@uis.edu or by phone at 217-206-6058.

Previous Recipients

  • 2022 Donovan Pepper '94,MA '96,PAA
  • 2021 Dr. Naomi B. Lynn, Chancellor Emerita
  • 2020
    Dr. Janice Spears, '73, MA '74 LAS, MA '81 EHS
  • 2019
    Dr. Larry Golden, Professor Emeritus
  • 2018
    Mary Mitchell Beaumont MA ’89 LAS
  • 2016
    Cheryl Peck ’86 LAS, MA ’89 LAS
  • 2015
    Delinda Chapman Ed.D., MA ’74 EHS
  • 2014
    Julie Kellner ’86 CBM and William Kellner ’73 (UI)
  • 2013 Charles Scheighauser
  • 2012
    Randall F. Witter MPA ’82
  • 2011
    Ray Schroeder, ’72 (UI)
  • 2010
    Judith E. Everson
  • 2009
    Helen Jane Dunn, ma ’72 ehs
  • 2008
    Shelley J. Hoffman ’82 CBM
  • 2007
    Karen Hasara ’72 EHS, MA ’92 PAA
  • 2006
    Cullom Davis, MA ’61 LAS, PHD ’69 LAS
  • 2005
    Mary Rechner ’98 CBM
  • 2004
    Pamela L. McClelland ’90, MA ’95 CBM