History of the Current Curriculum

Development of the Curriculum

The General Education Curriculum at UIS was developed by the General Education Working Group, which was initiated in spring 2002 by Provost Michael Cheney. The committee had two purposes:

  • To develop a set of courses that would be distinctive enough to appeal to a new small cohort of first-year students and flexible enough to work for transfer students who need to enter the institution at any point in their baccalaureate degree and complete general education requirements with ease; and
  • To insure that the new curriculum fit well with the institutional mission, heritage, and vision for the future.

In planning, the GEWG recognized the necessity of UIS becoming a full four-year baccalaureate institution. The new curriculum developed by the GEWG was intended to the general education needs of all undergraduate students at UIS.

The curriculum was approved by the Campus Senate in March 2005. The outlines of the general education plan appear in Campus Senate Resolution 34-15.

Courses are now approved for the curriculum through the Campus Senate’s General Education Committee

Structure of the Curriculum

Courses in the program are divided into two categories:

  • Lower division courses, written communication, oral communication, science, math, humanities, and social sciences. These courses are sometimes interdisciplinary, and they provide a foundation of knowledge and skills that are crucial for a broad liberal arts education.
  • The Engaged Citizenship Common Experience is designed to help students become aware of their roles in a complex, interdependent set of communities. ECCE categories promote cultural awareness and engagement experiences.

Members of the General Education Working Group (2002-2005)

Karen R. Moranski, Chair (English and Capital Scholars Honors)
John Barker (Philosophy)
William Bloemer (Visiting Assistant to the Provost; former Dean)
Terry Bodenhorn (History and Capital Scholars Honors)
Sara Cordell (English)
Heather Dell (Women’s Studies and Sociology/Anthropology)
Margot Duley (Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences)
Keenan Dungey (Chemistry)
Sharon Graf (Sociology/Anthropology and Music Program)
Denise Green (Brookens Library)
Yuichi Iwashita (Mathematics)
Kamau Kemayo (African American Studies)
Marcellus Leonard (Center for Teaching and Learning and English)
Jeffrey Maras (Visiting Associate Dean of Students)
Douglas Marshall (Sociology/Anthropology)
Paul McDevitt (Business Administration)
Amy McEuen (Biology)
Keith Miller (Computer Science)

Ex-officio members

Harry Berman (Provost)
Pat Langley (Women’s Studies and Chair, Campus Senate)
L. Christopher Miller (Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs)