Welcome to the University of Illinois at Springfield  
UIS Home Page
Search UIS
UIS Press Releases

Donna McCracken

Click here to go to the UIS Home Page


This Year



Reception honors UIS faculty achievements

May 8, 2006

SPRINGFIELD – The University of Illinois at Springfield held its annual reception to recognize faculty achievements on May 4. Chancellor Richard Ringeisen and Provost/Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Harry Berman presided over a ceremony honoring faculty members who have received tenure and/or promotion, been awarded sabbaticals, or granted emeritus status. Three major awards – the Pearson Faculty Award, the Spencer Faculty Service Award, and the Faculty Excellence Award – were also presented, and the designation of the National City Bank Distinguished Professorship was announced.

The ninth annual Pearson Award for outstanding teaching was presented to Rachell Anderson, professor of human services. The award recognizes a faculty member who has established a record of teaching excellence and supports his or her continuing development as a teacher and a scholar. The award was established by a gift from Dr. Emmet and Mary Pearson, longtime benefactors of the campus.

Presenting the award, Ringeisen noted that Anderson "exemplifies the commitment to excellence in teaching that this award recognizes. Her end-of-course evaluations reflect the quality of her teaching and large number of students served. She has established an outstanding record as a superb teacher by motivating and involving students and instilling in them an obligation to give back to the community. In addition, her roles as professor, clinician, and poet are blended into her record of excellence in teaching. She has been recognized by Who’s Who among Favorite Teachers and serves as a role model for incoming faculty."      

The eighth annual Spencer Award was given to Pat Langley, professor of Women's Studies and Legal Studies. Honoring Robert Spencer, founding president of Sangamon State University, this award recognizes those faculty who best exemplify the ideal of the "professor-citizen" through public service and service to the academic community.

"Robert Spencer emphasized that education for good citizenship was integral to a liberal arts education and challenged Sangamon State University to make a difference in society," said Ringeisen. "Professor Langley's record of service has established her as a model 'professor-citizen' as envisioned by Dr. Spencer. Her service includes an extraordinary record of leadership and service on many committees since arriving on campus, but she has also served the broader community and is extremely committed to social justice. She is a strong, passionate, and tireless advocate for positive social change and a role model for students. Her service to her discipline, to UIS, and to academic life in general is exceptional."

Christopher Mooney, professor of Political Studies, received the fifth Faculty Excellence Award, made to recognize sustained, career-long accomplishments at UIS in teaching and scholarship, as well as those faculty who best exemplify the ideal of the teacher-scholar and whom colleagues recognize as a role model and mentor. The award is funded by a gift from Richard and Carolyn Ringeisen.

Berman noted in presenting the award that Mooney is recognized for teaching courses that "improve students' critical thinking skills, help them understand political science theories, and enable them to apply those theories to understand the politics that surrounds them." Adding that Mooney has played a key role in designing the program’s graduate curriculum, Berman said that he is a "well respected scholar and a nationally recognized expert in comparative state politics who truly represents the teacher-scholar ideal." Mooney has served as director of UIS' Illinois Legislative Studies Center and is the founding editor of the State Politics & Policy Quarterly, a leading national journal of comparative state politics.

Richard Judd, professor of Business Administration and interim director of the College of Business and Management's Center for Entrepreneurship, has been designated as the National City Bank Distinguished Professor.

Said Berman, "For almost a quarter of a century we have had one faculty member in the College of Business and Management who has the academic record and credentials and the respect of his peers and regional leaders to fill this position." Judd's many publications in the areas of small business management and entrepreneurship include the only college textbook on franchising. He was been involved, nationally and regionally, in the development of Small Business Development Centers and Small Business Institutes, and he has been instrumental in the Springfield Chamber of Commerce's efforts to reach out to small businesses.  

A number of faculty members were also recognized for their efforts by receiving recommendations for promotion, tenure, and sabbatical leave. Five retiring faculty members were granted emeritus status.

Recommended for tenure and promotion to associate professor were Hei-Chi Chan, Mathematical Sciences; Scott Day, Educational Leadership; Heather Dell, Women's Studies; Keenan Dungey, Chemistry; Lynn Fisher, Sociology/Anthropology; James Hall, Management Information Systems; and Carol Rankin, Human Services.

Leonard Branson, Accountancy; Michael Duvall, Communication; Don O'Neal, Management; and Annette Van Dyke, Liberal Studies, Individual Option, and Women's Studies, were recommended for promotion to full professor.

Sabbatical leaves were granted to Carol Jessup, associate professor of Accountancy; Ardeshir Lohrasbi, associate professor of Business Administration; Daniel Matthews, associate professor of Educational Leadership; Rosina Neginsky, associate professor, Liberal Studies/Individual Option; and Annette Van Dyke, professor, Individual Option/Liberal Studies/Women's Studies.

Recognized on their retirement by receiving the designation of emeritus faculty were Nada Chang, associate professor of Biology; Anne Draznin, professor of Legal Studies; Jan Droegkamp, professor of Liberal Studies/Individual Option; Dan Gallagher, professor of Business Administration; and Lon Mackelprang, professor of Public Administration.

All promotions, tenure, sabbatical leaves, and emeritus status are approved by the University of Illinois Board of Trustees.

    The University of Illinois at Springfield, one of three U of I campuses, is a small, public liberal arts university that offers 42 degree programs – 21 bachelor’s, 20 master’s, and the Doctorate of Public Administration. UIS has a special mission in public affairs and service and is known for extraordinary internships, a wireless campus, extensive online offerings, and a commitment to teaching.