FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                        Date: May 6, 2002

   Contact: Donna McCracken, 206-6716

47 from UIS inducted into international honor society


SPRINGFIELD – Forty-five students and two faculty members from the undergraduate and graduate programs in the College of Business and Management at the University of Illinois at Springfield were inducted into Sigma Beta Delta, an international honor society for business, management and administration. The ceremony was held Sunday, May 5, on the UIS campus.

UIS Chancellor Richard D. Ringeisen presented honorary memberships to area businessmen Harry Kirschner and Leonard Sapp. Ringeisen was himself inducted as an honorary member last year. Other previous honorees have included Clifford Greenwalt, president and CEO (retired) of Central Illinois Public Service Co., and George R. Bunn, chair of Bunn-O-Matic Corporation.

Student inductees were: Pallav Agarwala, Carmen R. Allen, Paul E. Bartlett, Amy Gloria Belke, Ryan Timothy Beveridge, Jennifer Florence Bushong, Holly Jo Copeland, Sara L. Edbrooke-Richardson, Sherri L. Ernst, Corinne M. Fuchs, Donald David Gibbs, Debra Ann Glosser, Dorothy Irene Godbey, Mark Thomas Goddard, Wendy Lynn Grant, Thomas E. Gustafson, Amy Kathryn Hagen, Brett Owen Havens, Megan LeAnn Henley, Mark T. Hoffman, Laurie C. Hume, Daphne M. Ingles, Jason P. Krumwiede, Bradley Kevin Menezes, Kendra Nicole Meyer, Judith L. Miller, Laura Judd Moral, Frederick M. Nergenah, Amy Lee Nickolaus, Andrew Michael O’Connor, Carmen Babetta Passoni, Brent D. Radtke, Beth L. Raridon, Amanda Loree Ripperda, Chris A. Royal, Christina Denise Ryan, David C. Sample, Corey William Schaer, Aksel Joseph Sidem, Yock Hoon Tan, Julie Lorin Waldrop, Sarah Beth Walters, Bradley Jay Warren, Deborah Lynn Wehner, and Ismail Yakici.

Faculty inductees were Feng-Shun (Leo) Bin, assistant professor of Business Administration, and James Patrick Hall, assistant professor of Management Information Systems.

Sigma Beta Delta was founded as a national organization in 1994 to encourage and recognize scholarship and achievement among students of business, management, and administration, and to encourage and promote personal and professional improvement and a life distinguished by honorable service to humanity.  For business students who attend a college or university with a Sigma Beta Delta chapter, membership is the highest national recognition they can receive.