FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                        Date: March 14, 2003

         Contact: Donna McCracken, 206-6716


UIS Substance Abuse Task Force receives “Extra Mile” award

SPRINGFIELD The Substance Abuse Task Force at the University of Illinois at Springfield has received an “Extra Mile” award from the Illinois Higher Education Center for Alcohol, Other Drug and Violence Prevention. The award was presented at the annual Illinois Campus Alcohol and Traffic Safety Conference, held February 25 in Springfield.

The Extra Mile award, made each year to one of the 83 colleges and universities in the state that are IHEC affiliates, recognizes exemplary efforts by the college and its community to prevent problems in the areas of alcohol, other drugs, and traffic safety. In presenting the award to UIS, IHEC staff member Judy Hartleroad commended the campus on its “creative programming initiatives, grant writing, and student involvement in campus alcohol and other drug prevention efforts.”

“Receiving this award at the state level is a significant accomplishment for our task force,” said Judy Shipp, director of the UIS Counseling Center.

Along with Shipp, task force members include clinical counselor Cameron Dean, residence director Marque Haupert, assistant director of residential life Michelle Houran, residence hall director for Capital Scholars students Mae Noll, Campus Health Service head nurse Lynne Price, and assistant professor of Human Services Carol Rankin. Student members are Abby Fitch and Loni Oehlwein, both resident assistants in campus housing, and Karen Guthrie and Lisa Shorey, both graduate assistants in the Counseling Center.

The IHEC’s mission is to reduce the negative health and safety consequences to Illinois college students related to alcohol, other drugs, and violence and to promote college and community environmental factors that support healthy and safe norms. The IHEC is housed in Eastern Illinois University’s Office of Safety Programs.