Date: June 2, 2003
Contact: Leanne Brecklin, 206-7784

Criminal justice honor society inducts 16 UIS students

SPRINGFIELD – Sixteen students at the University of Illinois at Springfield have been inducted as founding members of the campus’ new chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma, the national criminal justice honor society.

Inducted in the May ceremony were Molly Mae Alexander, Shawn Marie Allen, Jamie Lynn Burch, Kathleen A. Challacombe, Margaret A. Coleman, Tara M. Crawford, Tara J. Jacobs, Daphne R. Kennedy, Russell W. Lehr, Rachel Link, Alicia Gail Moran, Marcia J. Nicklas, Steve William Reece, Michelle Sim, Brian Trammell, and Virginia E. Wells.

Founded in 1942, Alpha Phi Sigma recognizes academic excellence in undergraduate and graduate students of criminal justice, as well as students in the juris doctorate field. There are more than 250 chapters throughout the U.S.

For more information, contact Leanne Brecklin, UIS assistant professor of Criminal Justice, at 206-7784.