FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                Date: February 27, 2002

         Contact: Donna McCracken, 206-6716

Paludan receives Lincoln Diploma of Honor

SPRINGFIELD – Dr. Phillip Shaw Paludan, Naomi B. Lynn Distinguished Chair in Lincoln Studies at the University of Illinois at Springfield, was recently awarded the Lincoln Diploma of Honor by Lincoln Memorial University, Harrogate, Tennessee.

The Diploma of Honor has the status of an honorary doctorate and is presented to individuals in recognition of distinguished service in interpreting the life, deeds, and immortality of Abraham Lincoln. Since 1939, LMU’s Board of Trustees has conferred this prestigious award on such scholars as Carl Sandburg, Bruce Catton, Richard Current, David Donald, John Hope Franklin, R. Gerald McMurtry, and James McPherson.

A renowned historian, Paludan is the author of numerous books and articles about Abraham Lincoln and the Civil War. His work examines the social and cultural history and constitutional thought of the period, focusing on the world where Lincoln lived as much as the man himself.  In 1995 the Lincoln and Soldiers Institute at Gettysburg College presented the Lincoln Prize to his book The Presidency of Abraham Lincoln, which was hailed by critics as “the most comprehensive modern treatment of that crucial period in American history” and an “indispensable book for any serious student of the American Civil War.”

Paludan accepted the appointment to UIS’ History program last spring and was invested as the campus’ first distinguished chair in November. Before coming to UIS he held the post of professor of history and Distinguished Lecturer in Western Civilization at the University ofKansas, Lawrence. He has also served as a visiting professor at Rutgers University and at University College, Dublin, Ireland.

He received his B.A. and M.A. from Occidental College, Los Angeles; attended the University of California, Los Angeles; and received his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1968.