FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Date: February 16, 2001

Contact: Lezli Austen

UIS student newspaper staff wins awards in statewide competition

SPRINGFIELD — Staff members of The Journal, the student newspaper at the University of Illinois at Springfield, won five awards at the 19th annual Illinois College Press Association convention, held February 10 and 11 in Chicago.

Contest judges were professional journalists from throughout the state. The awards were for work published from December 1999 to December 2000. Most of the awards were received in categories in which competitors represented non-daily newspapers at colleges and universities with enrollments of 4,000 or more.

The winners were: Veronica Espina, Jan Schappert, and George Gore, third-place, front-page layout; Espina and David Potterbaum, third-place, editorial writing; and Dana Dubriwny, third-place, feature writing. Paul Keup received two honorable mentions, one for sports column writing and the other for headline writing.

Currently, Espina is the editor-in-chief of The Journal and Schappert is the layout editor. Dubriwny, a graduate of the UIS public affairs reporting program, worked for the student newspaper through December 1999. During fall 2000, Gore was a reporter and layout assistant and Keup was sports editor. Potterbaum covered student life for The Journal last spring.

Debra Chandler Landis, Journal adviser, was appointed to a two-year term as immediate past president of ICPA.

- 30 -