Welcome to the University of Illinois at Springfield  
UIS Home Page
Search UIS
UIS Press Releases

Donna McCracken


Click here to go to the UIS Home Page


This Year



Reception honors UIS faculty achievements

August 30, 2005

SPRINGFIELD – The University of Illinois at Springfield held its annual reception to recognize faculty achievements on August 29. Chancellor Richard Ringeisen and Interim Provost/Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Harry Berman presided over a ceremony honoring faculty members who have received tenure and/or promotion, been awarded sabbaticals, or granted emeritus status. Three major awards -- the Pearson Faculty Award, the Spencer Faculty Service Award, and the Faculty Excellence Award -- were also presented.

Gary Trammell, recipient of the eighth annual Pearson Award

The eighth annual Pearson Award for outstanding teaching was presented to Gary Trammell, professor of Chemistry. The award recognizes a faculty member who has established a record of teaching excellence and supports his or her continuing development as a teacher and a scholar. The award was established by a gift from Dr. Emmet and Mary Pearson, longtime benefactors of the campus.

Presenting the award, Berman noted that over his long career at UIS, Trammell “has shown himself to be not only an outstanding teacher, but a teacher of teachers, whose knowledge and enthusiasm for his subject has shaped high school science instruction in central Illinois. He is student-centered and has a knack for taking difficult scientific topics and making them understandable to both majors and non-majors. He has a solid record of publications and presentations at conferences, and is dedicated to his students, his colleagues, and the university as a whole.”

Steve Schwark, recipient of the seventh annual Spencer Award

The seventh annual Spencer Award was given to Steve Schwark, professor of Political Studies. Honoring Robert Spencer, founding president of Sangamon State University, this award recognizes those faculty who best exemplify the ideal of the “professor-citizen” through public service and service to the academic community.

“Steve is a model citizen of the campus, having served in many significant governance roles,” said Berman. “The hallmarks of his service are his thoughtfulness, his conscientiousness and his patience. In Steve we see not only a person whose service to the campus is distinguished, but one who takes the responsibilities of citizenship in the broader community very seriously. He is, in many ways, the face of the UIS faculty for Springfield.”

Lynn Pardie, recipient of the fourth annual Faculty Excellence Award

Lynn Pardie, professor of Psychology, received the fourth Faculty Excellence Award, made to recognize sustained, career-long accomplishments at UIS in teaching and scholarship, as well as those faculty who best exemplify the ideal of the teacher-scholar and whom colleagues recognize as a role model and mentor. The award is funded by a gift from Richard and Carolyn Ringeisen.

Berman noted in presenting the award that Pardie is recognized by students and faculty alike as one who “makes education a way of life. Colleagues note her continuing efforts to improve her teaching and the thoroughness and high degree of organization she brings to it. The hallmarks of her service are a high level of conscientiousness, the capacity to lead groups to productive outcomes, skill in summarizing discussion and framing problems, and, above all, the ability to listen carefully and deal tactfully and constructively with others.”

A number of faculty members were also recognized for their efforts by receiving recommendations for promotion, tenure, and sabbatical leave. Eight retiring faculty members were granted emeritus status.

Recommended for tenure and promotion to associate professor were Hilary Frost-Kumpf, Public Administration; James Grubbs, Communication; Michael Small, Business Administration; Carrie Switzer, Psychology; and Marcel Yoder, Psychology.

Meredith Newman, Public Administration, and Lynn Pardie, Psychology, were recommended for promotion to full professor.

Sabbatical leaves were granted to Mary Bohlen, associate professor of Communication; Peter Boltuc, associate professor of Philosophy; Patricia Byrnes, associate professor of Public Administration; Rassule Hadidi, professor of Management Information Systems; Barbara Hayler, professor of Criminal Justice; Richard Judd, professor of Business Administration; Ethan Lewis, associate professor of English; Martin Martsch, associate professor of Social Work; Deborah McGregor, associate professor of History and Women’s Studies; Loretta Meeks, professor of Teacher Education; Nancy Scannell, associate professor of Business Administration; and Robert Sipe, professor of Political Studies.

Recognized on their retirement by receiving the designation of emeritus faculty were Judith Ettinger, associate professor of Management; John Nosari, associate professor of Accountancy; John Stroope, associate professor of Accountancy; Michael Townsend, associate professor of Human Services and Social Work; Paula Garrott, associate professor of Clinical Laboratory Science; Ronald Havens, professor of Psychology; James Stuart, professor of Sociology/Anthropology; and Peter Wenz, professor of Philosophy.

All promotions, tenure, sabbatical leaves, and emeritus status are approved by the University of Illinois Board of Trustees.



    The University of Illinois at Springfield, one of three U of I campuses, is a small, public liberal arts university that offers 42 degree programs – 21 bachelor’s, 20 master’s, and the Doctorate of Public Administration. UIS has a special mission in public affairs and service and is known for extraordinary internships, a wireless campus, extensive online offerings, and a commitment to teaching.