Welcome to the University of Illinois at Springfield  
UIS Home Page
Search UIS
UIS Press Releases

Lynn Otterson


Click here to go to the UIS Home Page


This Year



Recipients of UIS’ Lynn & Student Activism awards announced

April 27, 2005

SPRINGFIELD – Two annual awards recognizing contributions to a positive campus environment for women have been presented at the University of Illinois at Springfield. Normajean Niebur is the recipient of the Eighth Annual Naomi B. Lynn Award for Outstanding Contributions to Women at UIS. Candi Clouse received the First Annual Student Award in Recognition for Positive Contributions in Gendered Issues to the UIS Campus Community through Activism. Both awards were presented at a ceremony held April 20 on campus.

Nominees for the 2005 Naomi B. Lynn Award at UIS were (l-to-r): Mary Sheila Tracy, Joan Buckles, Vicki Megginson, Candi Clouse, Normajean Niebur, Liz Moran, and Heather Dell. (not shown, Susy Woods)

Niebur is secretary for the Criminal Justice and Public Health programs at UIS and serves as president of the campus chapter of University Professionals of Illinois. Clouse is a graduate student in the Individual Option program.

The Lynn Award is made by the UIS Women’s Center Council in recognition of significant contributions to women at UIS and honors Lynn, who served as president of Sangamon State University and chancellor of UIS from 1991 to 2001. Recipients are recognized with a gift made in their name to the Women’s Peace and Friendship Garden, which is located on the west side of the campus pond.

Nominees for UIS' first-ever Student Activism Award were (l to r): Liz Moran, Candi Clouse, Carly Hawkins, Carrie Bauer, Lateasa Polito, and Tyson Roan.

The Student Activism Award is presented by the Women’s Issues Caucus at UIS to honor those students who contribute to gender issues on campus through activism. The cash award is open to any student, regardless of gender, who has made significant contributions to the campus community.

UIS Chancellor Richard Ringeisen noted in presenting the Lynn award that nomination materials consistently cited Niebur’s fervor and energy. “They also spoke of her courage in speaking out for what she believes is right,” he said. “One person wrote, ‘What is so special about her is that not only does she encourage women to step up and claim the power that is theirs to claim, but she does so with a loving and caring heart.’

“Normajean can be counted on, as a friend, an advocate, and as a person who doesn’t hesitate to give more than 100 percent for the betterment of others,” Ringeisen said.

Clouse was hailed as “a shining model for student activism” and “a champion of women” at UIS. As president of Women’s Issues Caucus, she has been instrumental in more than a dozen activist events, including spearheading the 14-member UIS delegation to the national March for Women’s Lives in Washington, DC, in 2004. Her other efforts included facilitating a Body Image Speak-Out as part of Women’s Heritage Month activities in 2003, as well as the first UIS student production of the Vagina Monologues -- part of the V-Day Worldwide/College Campaign, a global movement designed to raise money and awareness for organizations that work to stop violence against women and girls -- in March 2005.

Clouse was also among the nominees for the Lynn Award. Other nominees were campus horticulturalist Joan Buckles, assistant professor of women’s studies Heather Dell, associate chancellor for development Vicki Megginson, student Liz Moran, computer science instructor Mary Sheila Tracy, and student Susy Woods.

Other nominees for the Student Activism Award were Carrie Bauer, Carly Hawkins, Liz Moran, Lateasa Polito, and Tyson Roan.

Past recipients of the Lynn Award are associate professor Annette Van Dyke (2003), student Veronica Espina (2002), professor emerita Jacqueline Jackson (2001), multicultural student affairs coordinator Terri Jackson (2000), professor emerita Judith Everson (1999), counseling center director Judy Shipp (1998), and professor emerita Mattilou Catchpole (1997).



    The University of Illinois at Springfield, one of three U of I campuses, is a small, public liberal arts university that offers 42 degree programs – 21 bachelor’s, 20 master’s, and the Doctorate of Public Administration. UIS has a special mission in public affairs and service and is known for extraordinary internships, a wireless campus, extensive online offerings, and a commitment to teaching.