FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Date: April 30, 2003

Contact: Allan Cook, 206-7007


UIS students inducted into educational honor society


SPRINGFIELD Sixteen students at the University of Illinois at Springfield were inducted into the Alpha Alpha Gamma chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, an international honor society in education, in a ceremony held April 26.

New inductees are Dolores J. Bell, Dana Brackett, India Clemons, Jason Curry, Kathleen DeSalle, Jaqueleen Doros, Wendy L. Dyer, Mary C. Farnsworth, Chris Forman, Dianne Hennenfent, Martha Lister, Marie Lowder, Christa Morgan, Amy Raynolds, Michelle R. Seitz, and Brittney E. White.

Dedicated to scholarship and excellence in education, Kappa Delta Pi was founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The Alpha Alpha Gamma chapter at UIS was chartered in 2001.

The society has a long history of openness to differences in gender, race, ethnicity, handicapping conditions, age, and intellectual ideas. As a community of scholars pledged to worthy ideals, Kappa Delta Pi recognizes scholarship and excellence in education; promotes the development and dissemination of educational ideas and practices; enhances the continuous growth and leadership of its members; fosters inquiry and reflection on educational issues; and maintains a high degree of professional fellowship.

Current and past members living in the Springfield area are welcome to become affiliated with the UIS chapter. For more information, contact Allan Cook, associate professor and chair of the Teacher Education program at UIS, by phone at 206-7007 or by e-mail at