UIS Home Page Search the UIS Website
UIS News Release

UIS to hold 37th commencement ceremony May 10 at The Center

April 29, 2008

Contact: Donna McCracken, 217/206-6716, dmccr1@uis.edu

SPRINGFIELD — Illinois Supreme Court Justice Anne M. Burke will be the speaker at commencement ceremonies for the University of Illinois at Springfield, which will begin at 2 p.m. Saturday, May 10, at the Prairie Capital Convention Center, Ninth and Adams streets in downtown Springfield. Of the 1,292 students eligible to graduate, 715 will participate in the ceremony.

To ensure that family members and guests of each graduate have a seat, tickets will be required for admission until 15 minutes before the ceremony. Seating will be on a first-come, first-served basis. The doors to the main floor of The Center will open at 1 p.m.

Justice Burke has a long and distinguished career as a child advocate and legal professional. In 1968, based on her experience as a physical education teacher working with mentally disabled children, Burke founded the Chicago Special Olympics, which grew to become the International Special Olympics. As an attorney, she established a neighborhood practice that often represented the interests of children and families involved in cases of neglect, abuse, delinquency, and parental custody.

As Gov. Jim Edgar's Special Counsel for Child Welfare Services, as well as a member of his Legislative Committee on Juvenile Justice, she helped bring about reforms in the state's juvenile justice and child protection systems in the mid-1990s. She was appointed to the Illinois Appellate Court in 1995 and served on the Appellate bench until her appointment to the Illinois Supreme Court in July 2006.

Henry Nicholson, associate professor of Communication, has been chosen to serve as grand marshal. The student speaker will be Denean Vreeland, who will receive a bachelor's degree in Mathematical Sciences.

Faculty and students in each academic program select one graduating student who best exemplifies the goals and spirit of that program to serve as student marshal for the ceremony.

This year's marshals are:

Accountancy: Audrey Nicole Greenan – B.A., Megan Melissa Buskirk – M.A.

Biology: Rachel L. Olson – B.S., Jaclyn Michelle Negro – M.S.

Business Administration: Amy Linn Camp – B.B.A, Suresh Radhakrishnan – M.B.A., Joseph W. Evans – M.B.A. (Peoria)

Chemistry: Benjamin Curtis Owen – B.S.

Clinical Laboratory Science: Gillian M. Grasher – B.S.

Communication: Betsy Anne Fullerton – B.A., Carla Louise Bender – M.A.

Computer Science:  Alexis D. Cates – B.S., Kevin Zepp – M.S.

Criminal Justice: Cecelia Willoughby – B.A., Gary Alan Lowe – B.A. (Peoria)

Educational Leadership: Amy Lynn Getz – M.A.

English: Stephanie M. Ebersohl – B.A., Meghan Lynn Harmon – M.A.

Environmental Sciences: Kris Irene McDonald – M.S.

History: Johanna Marie Collier – B.A., Heather Michelle Wickens – M.A.

Human Development Counseling: Kimberly Ann Callaway – M.A.

Human Services: Mendy Sherel Hertz – M.A.

Individual Option: Brent Ronald Judd – M.A.

Legal Studies: Kara Lynn Standefer– B.A., Natalia Marie Vera – M.A.

Liberal Studies: Colleen Joyce – B.A.

Management: Janet Ann Prather – B.A., Colleen E. Jackson Keough – B.A. (Peoria)

Management Information Systems: Mary Kathryn Stadter – M.S.

Mathematical Sciences: Allison N. Leight – B.A.

Philosophy: Michael Daniel Badamo – B.A.

Political Studies: Richard Paul Sullivan – B.A., Joshua A. Weger – M.A.

Psychology: Aaron A. Shilling – B.A.

Public Administration: Elizabeth Ann VonDeBur – M.P.A.

Public Affairs Reporting: Amber E. Krosel – M.A.

Public Health: Mohammed Zillur Rahman – M.A.

Social Work: Nicole Marie Ferrara – B.S.W.

Sociology/Anthropology: Holly Anne Brookens – B.A.

Teacher Leadership: Glenna JoAnn Mount – M.A.

Visual Arts: Erin Michal Schroeder – B.A.

A number of events are planned for graduates, their families, and guests, beginning with a reception for Peoria-area students on Friday, May 2. Events on Wednesday, May 7, include a Late Night Breakfast.  An Alumni Association Class Ring and Student Leadership Award Recognition Ceremony is planned for Thursday, May 8. A brunch for online degree graduates is scheduled for Saturday morning, May 10. UIS' four colleges will hold individual receptions.

Admission to some Commencement events is by invitation only. Updated information, including a complete list of events, is available from the Commencement website at www.uis.edu/commencement/.

The ceremony will be webcast live at www.uis.edu/technology/uislive.html. Videotapes ($25) and DVDs ($25) can also be ordered from the Office of Electronic Media, phone 217/206-6799.

For more information, go to the UIS Commencement website at www.uis.edu/commencement/.



The University of Illinois at Springfield, one of three U of I campuses, is a small, public liberal arts university that offers 42 degree programs: 21 bachelor's, 20 master's, and the Doctorate of Public Administration. UIS has a special mission in public affairs and service and is known for extraordinary internships, a wireless campus, extensive online offerings, and a commitment to teaching.

UIS: Creating a Brilliant Future



Digg Digg
Facebook Facebook
Newsvine Newsvine


Related Links

More about UIS' 37th Commencement Ceremonies

Justice Anne M. Burke

See a live webcast


Search News Releases
2007 and After:
2006 and Before:

Browse past indexes:


SSU/UIS Campus News Archives, 1973-2002
(pdf files)