UIS Home Page Search the UIS Website
UIS News Release

Criminal Justice honor society inducts 18 at UIS

November 29, 2007

Contact: Leanne Brecklin, 217/206-7784, lbrec1@uis.edu

SPRINGFIELD – Eighteen new members will be inducted into the Epsilon Chi Chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma, the national criminal justice honor society, during ceremonies to be held December 5 at the University of Illinois at Springfield.

Alpha Phi Sigma, the only national honor society for criminal justice majors, recognizes the academic excellence of undergraduate and graduate students. To be eligible, students must have completed at least one-third of the total hours required for graduation and must maintain specified grade-point averages overall and in the major.

Inductees are Jennifer Donnelly, Christopher Geary, Aimee Goodman, Kristin Hegel, Catalina Hernandez, Jennifer Kirschbaum, Gary Lowe, Bret Merna, Rena Middendorf, Anthony Mikels, Deanna Miller, Justin Reed, Holly Reuter, Matthew Richards, Keyria Rodgers, Rebecca Smith, John Turner, and Jennifer Weber. Leanne Brecklin, assistant professor of Criminal Justice at UIS, serves as chapter adviser.

UIS' Criminal Justice department is housed within the College of Public Affairs and Administration and offers the baccalaureate degree and undergraduate minor.



The University of Illinois at Springfield, one of three U of I campuses, is a small, public liberal arts university that offers 42 degree programs: 21 bachelorís, 20 masterís, and the Doctorate of Public Administration. UIS has a special mission in public affairs and service and is known for extraordinary internships, a wireless campus, extensive online offerings, and a commitment to teaching.

UIS: Creating a Brilliant Future



Digg Digg
Facebook Facebook
Newsvine Newsvine


Related Links

The Criminal Justice Department at UIS

Alpha Phi Sigma Honor Society


Search News Releases
2007 and After:
2006 and Before:

Browse past indexes:


SSU/UIS Campus News Archives, 1973-2002
(pdf files)