

## University of Illinois Springfield Student Government Association Resolution SP16-017

The Addition of Article III, Section 13 to the SGA Bylaws
Resolution Sponsor: Senator Grace Rosado
Co-Sponsor: Parliamentarian Tony Schuering

**WHEREAS**, the University of Illinois at Springfield's Student Government Association (hereinafter "SGA") is governed, in part, by the "Bylaws of the University of Illinois at Springfield Student Government Association" (hereinafter the "Bylaws"); and,

**WHEREAS**, The SGA has heretofore, in its Resolution styled FA15-009, authorized the Parliamentarian to draft language effectuating the creation of the "Campus Safety Committee" (hereinafter the "Committee"); and,

**WHEREAS**, the Parliamentarian has drafted such language and does desire to implement the proposed language; and,

**WHEREAS**, the SGA does desire to modify the Bylaws.

**THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Preambles hereto are true and correct and are incorporated herein by reference as if fully set forth at this point.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that Section 13 shall be added to Article III of the Bylaws, and shall be titled "Campus Safety Committee".

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that Clause A shall be added to Article III, Section 13 of the Bylaws, stating as follows: "The Campus Safety Committee shall be responsible for serving as a conduit for proposals and ideas relating to the safety of the students, faculty, and staff on campus."

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that Clause B shall be added to Article III, Section 13 of the Bylaws, stating as follows: "Membership to this Committee shall be open to members of the undergraduate and graduate student body, as well as faculty and staff of the University."

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that all Resolutions, Proclamations, Administrative Decisions or all other such enactments by the Student Government which conflict with this Resolution are hereby repealed to the extent of said conflict.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that this Resolution shall become effective immediately upon its passage and recording by the Secretary of the Student Government Association.

Josh Lawson	Emily Hartney
President	Secretary