Approved Campus Senate Meeting April 18, 2008

CAMPUS SENATE AY2007/2008 RESOLUTION 37-28

Changes to Resolution 37-18 Committee on Assessment of Student Learning Addition of (2) b. and (2) c. under Membership

ARTICLE VI COMMITTEES AND REPRESENTATIVES OF THE SENATE

2. Standing Committees

N. Committee on Assessment of Student Learning

(1) Duties

The duties of the Committee on Assessment of Student Learning are to:

- a. study, develop, and encourage policies, procedures, and programs that assess student learning vis-à-vis baccalaureate skills, general education, graduate education, and academic programs; and
- b. provide continuing oversight to assessment activities;
- c. foster best practices of assessment across the campus; and
- d. communicate and cooperate with other campus and University units and committees on assessment issues; and
- e. make reports and recommendations to the Senate and other units and officials of the campus and University.

The Committee shall establish subcommittees on a standing or temporary basis as it deems necessary to carry out its duties.

- (2) Membership
 - a. The Committee shall consist of six faculty members appointed by the Campus Senate, one each from the Colleges of Business and Management, Education and Human Services, Public Affairs and Administration, the Library and two from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Ex-officio non-voting members shall consist of the Associate Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education or designee, the Associate Vice Chancellor for

Graduate Education or designee, the Director of the Capital Scholars Honor Program or designee, the Director of the Office of Technology Enhanced Learning or designee, a Dean of an academic college or designee, and the Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs or designee.

- b. Faculty shall serve three-year staggered terms. Each spring semester the committee shall elect a chair from the ranks of faculty whose term will begin in the summer session.
- c. In order to ensure continuity in its initial formation, the Senate shall appoint the faculty who currently serve on the Assessment Task Force to serve on the Committee; one-third shall have oneyear terms, one-third shall have two-year terms, and one-third shall have three-year terms, as drawn by lot. Thereafter, the vacancies shall be filled as provided in section (a) above.