Student Technology, Arts & Research Symposium

STARS logo 2014_B_UISblue

  • When: Thursday April 16 and Friday April 17, 2020 STARS1
  • Who: All students (graduate and undergraduate) involved in research or creative works.  You can elect to give a short oral presentation, a poster presentation, art exhibition, or performance of your work.
  • How: Faculty mentors submit abstracts. Following abstract submission and acceptance, all authors will be sent a link to officially register.


Questions? Email Brian Moore:

 The STARS experience

In this video, UIS Alumna Hannah Trad (Online BS Political Science ’18) shares how her STARS experience shaped her career.

STARS Core Planning Team

Brytton Bjorngaard
Associate Professor of Visual Arts, Art, Music, and Theatre Department
VPA 129    206-7547    Email:

Shipra Gupta
Associate Professor of Business Administration (Marketing)

UHB 4048    206-7926    Email:

Keenan Dungey
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Institutional Effectiveness
& Associate Professor, Chemistry Department
PAC 525    206-7345    Email:

Tom Rothfus 
Director, Therkildsen Field Station at Emiquon
UHB 3031    206-7418    Email:

Charles Ogbogu

Leadership Lived Experience Student Worker

Brian Moore Administrative Clerk Undergraduate Research Support Program Office

  • Office: Public Affairs Center, Room 519
  • Address: University of Illinois Springfield One University Plaza, MS PAC 525 Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407 Email: Phone: (217) 206-6544 Fax: (217) 206-7623

STARS Faculty Outreach Team

Egbe Egiebor
Assistant Professor, Public Health Department
PAC 320    206-8146    Email:

Mark Klingshirn
Director, Capital Scholars Honors Program
& Associate Professor, Chemistry Department
VPA 64    206-7469    Email:

Tiffani Saunders
Lecturer, Sociology/Anthropology Department
UHB 3019    206-8335.  Email:

Karen Swan
Professor, Educational Leadership Department
UHB 4077    206-7424    Email:

Abigail Walsh
Applied Music Specialist, Art, Music, and Theatre Department
VPA 49    206-7549    Email:

Neetu Singh 

Assistant Professor, College of Business and Management Department

UHB 4040   206-7921 Email: