Welcome to the University of Illinois at Springfield  
UIS Home Page
Search UIS
<< News Briefs Home

Tuesday, October 09, 2007

Peggy Boyer Long receives Paul Simon Public Service Award

Peggy Boyer Long, executive editor of Illinois Issues magazine and director of Center Publications, has been named a recipient of the 2007 Paul Simon Public Service Awards.

The awards are presented by the Illinois Campaign for Political Reform. State Comptroller Dan Hynes is also a recipient of this year's award, which will be presented at the ICPR 10th anniversary celebration, November 7 at the McCormick Tribune Freedom Museum in Chicago.

A veteran broadcast and print journalist, Long will be recognized for her contributions to public understanding of the operations and issues of state government. ICPR Director Cynthia Canary noted, "For more than three decades, Peggy Boyer Long has provided insightful reporting and commentary on the political and policy debates at the state Capitol and has been a mentor to many aspiring reporters. Because Paul Simon had a hand in the founding of Illinois Issues more than 30 years ago, it is fitting that this award in his name is going to the person whose hard work … has maintained the magazine's high quality."

Long has served as Illinois Issues editor since 1994. From 1975 to 1978 and again from 1989 to 1991 she served as Statehouse bureau chief for public radio WUIS and the Illinois Public Radio Network.

This is the third year that ICPR has presented the Simon awards. Previous recipients are former Illinois Comptroller Dawn Clark Netsch (2005); former congressman and federal appeals court judge Abner Mikva (2005); Mike Lawrence, director of the Paul Simon Public Policy Institute at Southern Illinois University (2006); Newton Minow, former chairman of the Federal Communications Commission (2006); and the editorial board of The Peoria Journal Star (2006).

Simon created the ICPR in 1997 as a statewide nonprofit group without affiliation to any political party.