What’s New

2018 ASCLS-IL Meeting Awards

Congratulations to William G. Wilson, MLS Faculty, and seniors Jessica Sheffield and Jennifer Minton for receiving Springfield-Southern chapter awards at the Illinois state meeting in Naperville, April 20, 2018.  Jess also won Student of the Year and Omicron Sigma honors. And the Holly Jolly Buddies student team took 2nd place in the state Student Bowl competition!  Although it snowed, it was a great meeting!

Springfield branch awardees 2018
Springfield branch awardees 2018 Jenni Minton, Bill Wilson, Anh Strow, Gilma Roncancio-Weemer

Jess Sheffield Illinois Student of the Year 2018

Jessica Sheffield  Student of the year

 New MLS Faculty

Andrea Jensen Joins UIS Full time faculty in August of 2018

Ms. Jensen is a graduate of UIS in both MLS and MPH programs.  Ms. Jensen is coming to us from Memorial Medical Center.  She will concentrate on teaching immunology and immunohematology (blood banking).


MLS Awards Announced

Congratulation to the senior MLS students who were selected for the following 2018 awards:

MLS Student of the Year: Jessica Sheffield

MLS Student Marshal: Taylor Cooperider


New Equipment

The Department is pleased to announce the addition of new laboratory equipment and supplies:

  • BeckmanCoulter AcT-diff hematology analyzer
  • 42 degree incubator
  • Gel system for blood bank
  • Several multi-headed teaching microscopes
  • Olympus camera to project microscope images to all students in lab