Statutory Charge

University of Illinois Statutes


Section 4. Faculty Advisory Committee

Faculty advice and recommendations on University governance are traditionally provided to the administration through standing and ad hoc committees and representation in the senate. In addition, at each campus the faculty shall elect a Faculty Advisory Committee. The committee shall consist of nine faculty members on the Chicago and Urbana-Champaign campuses, three of whom shall be elected each year. The committee shall consist of seven faculty members on the Springfield campus, two of whom shall be elected each year and the seventh every third year. The three-year terms will commence on the first day of the academic year following the election.

The Faculty Advisory Committee shall provide for the orderly voicing of suggestions for the good of the University, afford added recourse for the consideration of grievances, and furnish a channel for direct and concerted communication between the faculty and the administrative officers of the University, its colleges, schools, institutes, divisions, and other administrative units on matters of interest or concern to the campus faculty or any member of it.