Omicron Delta Epsilon

Omicron Delta Epsilon is an international honor society in the field of economics. It publishes a journal entitled The American Economist twice each year. Its board of trustees includes well-known economists such as Robert Lucas, Kenneth Arrow, and Robert Solow. It is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies; the ACHS indicates that Omicron Delta Epsilon has 88,000 members and 435 active chapters.

New members consist of undergraduate and graduate students, as well as college and university faculty; the academic achievement required to obtain membership for students can be raised by individual chapters. The student membership fee is $30.00.

Dr. Geoffrey Lea, Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics, serves at the UIS faculty adviser to Omicron Delta Epsilon. For information about joining this society, please contact Dr. Lea at (217) 206-8586 or