Student Leadership Recognition Award

The Diversity Center recognizes a group of persons who have held critical leadership roles and have furthered the development of our professional society. They are being recognized in appreciation of their work on behalf of the Division. They serve as an example for us all and hopefully will return to new leadership roles within the Division in the future and provide us once again with their dedication, skill, and knowledge.

Student Leadership Recognition Award

Pictured above:
Premalatha Babu, Renee Rathjen, Craig Pelka, Jamila Patterson, Yolanda Beamon, Lawrence Salley, LaTrice Nettles, Blake Johnson, Armando Vega, Gautham Sista, Karina Diaz and Alexis Baker.

Not Pictured: Ashley Price, Dustin Morrison, Erin Jones, Everitt O’Neal, Madhu Shetty, Megan Clark, Monique Williams, Ricardo Montoya Picazo, Shwetankh Ruia, Sneha Mudumba, William Smith.

The above students were honored at the Student Affairs Leadership Recognition Awards banquet, Saturday, May 2, 2009. This is the first year for this award to acknowledge students for their volunteer efforts to assist the Diversity Center to establish the foundation  to foster a supportive environment for students to live, learn and grow as active members of the academic community and as individuals. We are dedicated to developing understanding of differences through educational, cultural, and social programming activities and to assist in the recruitment, transition and retention of ethnic minority and underrepresented students at UIS.

Students Honored at the Diversity Center Student Leadership Recognition Awards Banquet

Student Advisory Committee