University Scholars

2015 University Scholar

Dr. Elizabeth Kosmetatou, associate professor of History at the University of Illinois Springfield, has been named University Scholar for 2015. She was the only UIS faculty member chosen for this award honoring and rewarding outstanding teachers and scholars at the three U of I campuses. Congratulations Dr. Kosmetatou!

Past University Scholars

Five major awards are presented to faculty each year to honor their excellence and commitment as teacher-scholars.

Here is a list of our past University Scholars from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

  • Peter Shapinsky, 2016
  • Elizabeth Kosmetatou, 2015
  • David Bertaina, History, 2014
  • Hua Chen, Biology, 2013
  • Lan Dong- English, 2012
  • John Martin- Astronomy/Physics, 2011
  • Sviatoslav Braynov- Computer Science, 2009elizabeth-kosmetatou-uis-2015-university-scholar-300x173
  • Rosina Neginsky- Liberal Studies, 2008
  • Barbara Burkhardt- English, 2007
  • Lynn Fisher- Sociology/Anthropology, 2006
  • Keenan Dungey- Chemistry, 2005
  • Robert McGregor- History, 2003
  • Michael Lemke- Biology, 2002
  • Keith Miller- Computer Science, 2000
  • David Jenkins- Biology, 1998
  • Ethan Lewis- English, 1996