Intensive English Program Levels

Students new to IEP takes a placement exam upon arrival. This tests a student’s reading, writing, and listening comprehension. Level placement is determined at that time.

We offer six levels:

  • Level 1 – Low Beginner
  • Level 2 – High Beginner
  • Level 3 – Low Intermediate
  • Level 4 – High Intermediate
  • Level 5 – Low Advanced
  • Level 6 – High Advanced

Program structure:

  • Each level is 8-weeks during Fall and Spring sessions, and 8-weeks during Summer session
  • Each level includes core courses in reading, writing, speaking & listening, and grammar
    • The program also offers a U.S. Culture class that meets once a week for one contact hour
  • Students advance to the next level dependent upon final course grades (C or better) and teacher recommendations
  • At the end of levels 5 and 6 students take the program administered exit exam to gain admission to degree programs.  Level 4 students may be eligible to test depending on grades and teachers’ recommendations.

Note: IEP students who wish to be considered for a UIS degree program must meet the English proficiency requirement(s) specific to their program.

General admission English proficiency requirements