The University of Illinois Springfield continues to be recognized for the strength of its academic programs, online education, and dedication to excellence. UIS has been ranked among the top 15 public regional universities in the Midwest for each of the past eleven years.

Each year, we recognize our high quality alumni, students, faculty, staff and their many individual achievements.


UIS is proud of our students and their many accomplishments. Many achievement and recognition awards are given to students during our annual Commencement Ceremony.

Regina Bolin, a senior business administration major, was honored for her overall excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities when she was presented with the Student Laureate Award from the Lincoln Academy of Illinois.


A university’s faculty represents one of its most precious assets. One of the ways universities can successfully attract and retain top talent is through named professorships and endowed chairs.

Richard Gilman-Opalsky

Richard Gilman-Opalsky, associate professor of political science at the University of Illinois Springfield, has been named University Scholar for 2018. The award, considered the university system’s highest faculty honor, recognizes outstanding teaching and scholarship. Only one faculty member receives the annual award at UIS.


Employee of the Month and Year

Each month, one staff member at UIS is named the Employee of the Month. Each year, one staff member is named the Employee of the Year.

Jay Swenson

Jay Swenson, assistant director of competitive sports and facilities for Campus Recreation, has been named the 2018 Employee of the Year at the University of Illinois Springfield. He was honored during a reception on February 6, 2019, in the Student Union Ballroom.

CAPE Award

The Chancellor’s Academic Professional Excellence (CAPE) Award honors all Academic Professionals at UIS by recognizing one outstanding Academic Professional each year.

James Koeppe

James Koeppe, director of campus recreation at the University of Illinois Springfield, is the winner of the 15th annual Chancellor’s Academic Professional Excellence (CAPE) Award. The award was presented by Chancellor Susan J. Koch on April 12, 2018.

CARE Award

The Chancellor’s Award for Recognizing Excellence in Civil Service (CARE in Civil Service) award, established jointly by the chancellor and the Civil Service Advisory Council, serves to recognize the exceptional work of all civil service employees and honors one employee each year.

Tisha Palmer

Tisha Palmer, administrative aide to the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, has been awarded the 2016 Chancellor’s Award to Recognize Excellence in Civil Service (CARE). The award is the highest honor annually awarded to a Civil Service staff member at the University of Illinois Springfield.

Employee Recognition

Also, length of service awards acknowledge full time service to the University of Illinois Springfield beginning at five years of service, in five year increments. UIS hosts a program each spring to honor retirees and to recognize faculty and staff with service awards. Employees with ten years of service and up are presented with certificates and gifts at the event.


Each year, the University of Illinois Alumni Association has honored outstanding UIS graduates and friends.

Alumni Gala

The annual UIS Alumni Gala celebrates UIS alumni and friends who have impacted the world and exemplify Leadership lived. During the 2018 UIS Alumni Gala, Kathy Best was presented with the Alumni Achievement Award, and Mary Mitchell Beaumont was presented with the Distinguished Service Award.

Colleges and Departments

  • The College of Business and Management is accredited by the A.A.C.S.B, a distinction earned by less than 5% of business schools worldwide.
  • The UIS Computer Science Department has been recognized by the National Security Agency (NSA) and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance/Cyberdefense Education.


UIS has been honored with awards and other recognition for its leadership in online education.

Find more online awards and recognition