Date: January 19, 2001

Contact: Lezli Austen

Four UIS students receive FMC Award of Excellence Scholarships

SPRINGFIELD — The University of Illinois at Springfield has announced that outstanding students Michael Foster (criminal justice), Susan Schlupp (management), Lynn O’Keefe (social work), and Mary Elizabeth Mueller (history) have received the 2000-2001 FMC Award of Excellence Scholarships. Each scholarship is a one-year, non-renewable award of $1,000 given to recognize, encourage, and reward scholarly achievement.

The scholarships are given annually to students in undergraduate colleges at all three campuses of the University of Illinois who have shown outstanding academic achievement before enrolling. Each of UIS’ four colleges - Business and Management, Education and Human Services, Liberal Arts and Sciences, and Public Affairs and Administration - selects its award recipient.

The money is available because of the generosity of Bert A. Gayman, a University of Illinois alumnus who donated a large block of preferred stock of the FMC (formerly Link-Belt) Corporation to the U of I Foundation in 1963.

- 30 -