Student Technology, Arts & Research Symposium

STARS logo 2014_B_UISblue


  • When: Thursday Morning, April 20, and Friday, April 21, 2017.STARS1


Symposium Keynote Speaker

Ross Gay Photo
Photo Credit: Jim Krause

Thursday April 20, 1:30 P.M. Brookens Auditorium

Ross Gay

Ross Gay is the author of three books: Against Which; Bringing the Shovel Down; and Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude, winner of the 2015 National Book Critics Circle Award and the 2016 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award. Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude received the National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry in 2016 and is currently a nominee for the Hurston-Wright Legacy Award. Catalog was also a finalist for the Ohioana Book Award, the Balcones Poetry Prize, and was nominated for an NAACP Image Award. He has received fellowships from Cave Canem, the Bread Loaf Writer’s Conference, and the Guggenheim Foundation. He teaches at Indiana University.

William J. Cosgrove Photo

Friday April 21, 1:30 P.M. Brookens Auditorium

William J. Cosgrove

William J. Cosgrove. B. Eng., M. Eng., Honorary D. Sc., McGill University. Currently Chair of the Board of the Water Economics, Policy and Governance Research Network (Canada), Bill is a former Vice President of the World Bank and was recently Senior Research Associate at the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis. He was Content Coordinator for the 3rd edition (2009) and Senior Advisor for the 4th edition (2012) of the United Nations World Water Development Report. He was a member of the Gulbenkian Foundation Think Tank on Water and Humanity. Bill received the Medal of the World Water Council for contributions to the World Water Vision (2000) and the 2001 Cannes international prize for water economics. He is an Honorary Fellow of the UNESCO-IHE Training Institute.

STARS Committee Members

Adam Clay
Assistant Professor of English
UHB 3071     206-8406     Email

Tammy Craig
Career Specialist Online Learning
BRK 425    206-8379   Email

Keenan Dungey
Director, Undergraduate Student Research & Associate Professor, Chemistry
HSB 312 Email

Michele Gribbins
Online Learning & Faculty Development Specialist
BRK 430 206-8251 Email

Michael Miller
Associate Professor, Art, Music, and Theatre Department
VPA 64     206-7469    Email

Carolee Rigsbee
Assistant Professor, Management Department
UHB 4077     206-8254   Email

Frances Shen
Associate Professor, Psychology
UHB 3128 206-7270 Email

Karen Swan
Professor, Educational Leadership
UHB 4077 206-7424 Email