Welcome to the University of Illinois at Springfield  
UIS Home Page
Search UIS

Tuesday, September 25, 2007

Old-Time Music Jam Session

An informal playing event with no preset program or tune list

2nd and 4th Wednesdays of each month, beginning September 26
7 to 9:30 p.m. in VPA 33

Everyone welcome, including those who don’t play but want to learn and those who just want to listen.

For information, contact Sharon Graf at 6-6570 or sgraf1@uis.edu, or go to the Old-Time Music Jam Session website.

Monday, September 24, 2007

TRAC grand opening

Wednesday, September 26

  • Ribbon Cutting Ceremony, 2 p.m.

  • Dedication Picnic, 4 – 6 p.m.
    TRAC Parking Lot
    Free food and music by Jayger

Wednesday, September 12, 2007

Constitution Day Event

"Canadian and U.S. Constitutions and Same-Sex Marriage"

A brown bag presentation by Jason Pierceson, assistant professor of political studies and legal studies, and author of Courts, Liberalism and Rights: Gay Law and Politics in the United States and Canada.

Noon, Monday, September 17, PAC C/D

Sponsored by the Office of Undergraduate Education; this is also an ECCE Speakers Series event

Contact speakerseries@uis.edu for more information.

Monday, September 10, 2007

Campus blood drive

10:30 a.m. to 3 p.m., Wednesday, September 19, Lincoln Residence Hall

Sponsored by Campus Health Services and the CLS Club

Call 6-6589 to make an appointment.

Wednesday, September 05, 2007

Day of Dialogue

2 to 4 p.m., Friday, September 7, LRH Great Room

An interactive session designed to discuss issues of stereotypes, prejudice, and discrimination among students, faculty, and staff.

Led by national consultant Peter Vogel.

Register at www.uis.edu/studentlife/

Tuesday, September 04, 2007

AAUW Used Book Sale

  • Pre-sale: 3 to 5 p.m., Friday, September 28 ($5 admission)
  • Sale: 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., Saturday, September 29 (free admission)
  • Westminster Presbyterian Church, 533 S. Walnut, Springfield

Proceeds from this annual American Association of University Women event, also supported by Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, benefit the local AAUW scholarship fund that provides support for four women returning to school at UIS, as well as one nursing scholarship at St. John’s College.

For information or to donate items, call 585-0507 or send an e-mail to aauwbooksale@insightbb.com.