Past Chancellors and Presidents of UIS – SSU

In 1995, the University of Illinois acquired Sangamon State University (SSU) as its third campus. The university became known as the University of Illinois at Springfield, and the initials became UIS.

Dr. Ringeisen Dr. Richard D. Ringeisen
Chancellor, UIS 2001-2010
Dr. Lynn Dr. Naomi B. Lynn
President, SSU and Chancellor, UIS 1991-2001
Dr. Long Dr. Durward Long
President, SSU 1984-1990
Dr. Lacy Dr. Alex Lacy
President, SSU 1978-1984
Dr. Spencer Dr. Robert Spencer
President, SSU 1969-1977