Sangamon Auditorium at UIS  

Coming Events Tickets Sangamon Auditorium Create Your Own SeriesSubscribe NowGive Now


Sponsored By:


Stay in Touch!

blogIllinois Springfield on FacebookIllinois Springfield on FlickrFollow Illinois Springfield events on TwitterWatch Illinois Springfield on YouTube

SFJAZZ Collective

Sunday, March 30, 2014, 7:00 PM

Tickets starting at $37

Buy Tickets

Artist Website

SFJAZZ Collective

The SFJAZZ Collective is an all-star award-winning jazz ensemble comprising eight of the finest performers/composers at work in jazz today. Launched in 2004 by SFJAZZ, the Collective has become one of the most exciting and acclaimed groups on the jazz scene. The new SFJAZZ Center in San Francisco is the Collective’s home base. The Collective’s first and only studio album, Wonder: The Songs of Stevie Wonder, won Outstanding Jazz Album at the 45th Annual NAACP Image Awards in Pasadena, CA on February 21, 2014.

The SFJAZZ Collective is celebrating its 10th Anniversary with a Spring 2014 Tour and an appearance at the 60th Anniversary Newport Jazz Festival in August by highlighting their greatest arrangements and original compositions. This "best of" performance includes material from many of the Collective's past and present members along with the tribute composers including Ornette Coleman, John Coltrane, Herbie Hancock, Thelonious Monk, Wayne Shorter, McCoy Tyner, Horace Silver, Stevie Wonder, and Chick Corea.

In addition to its outstanding line-up, the SFJAZZ Collective has been praised for its innovative approach to repertoire. Each year, the ensemble performs a new list of compositions by a modern jazz master and new pieces by the Collective members (commissioned by SFJAZZ). Through this pioneering approach, simultaneously honoring jazz's recent history while championing the music's up-to-the-minute directions, the Collective embodies SFJAZZ's commitment to jazz as a living, ever-relevant art form.

Miguel Zenón – Alto Saxophone
David Sánchez – Tenor Saxophone
Avishai Cohen – Trumpet
Robin Eubanks – Trombone
Warren Wolf – Vibraphone, Marimba
Edward Simon – Piano
Matt Penman – Bass
Obed Calvaire – Drums

Sangamon Auditorium’s presentation of SFJAZZ will be dedicated to the memory of Barrett Deems (March 1, 1914 – September 15, 1998). Billed as “the fastest drummer in the world,” the Springfield-born Deems spent five years as Louis Armstrong’s drummer and also worked for Jimmy Dorsey, Tommy Dorsey and Woody Herman. A cake reception will be held in the lobby following the concert in celebration of Deems’ 100th birthday and his 70-year career.



Sangamon Auditorium ~ University of Illinois Springfield ~ Tickets 217.206.6160 or 800.207.6960